Skip to main content
OETA wins 20 SPJ awards
Email share

The Oklahoma Educational Television Authority (OETA) won 20 awards from the Oklahoma chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists at the organization's awards ceremony April 30. 

OETA won 12 first-place SPJ awards, including honors for diversity coverage, government reporting, election reporting and criminal justice reporting. OETA photojournalist Tim Carson also won for best video portfolio. OETA has received five second-place honors and three third-place. Carson’s work, as well as all OETA-produced shows, can be found online here.

The Society of Professional Journalists Oklahoma chapter supports working journalists across the state. The Oklahoma SPJ chapter works to advocate, educate and create opportunities for journalists.


OETA SPJ First-Place Awards

  • Criminal Justice Reporting (Lis Exon & Tim Carson) - Police Body Cams
  • Diversity Coverage (Lis Exon & Tim Carson) - Muslim Outreach
  • Documentary (Susan Miller, Dave Tamez, Janna Smith, Bill Perry) - Gallery: Art For The People
  • Election Reporting (Lis Exon & Tim Carson) - Oklahoma's Political Process
  • Feature (Bob Sands & Aaron Byrd) - Historic Studio
  • Government Reporting (Lis Exon & Tim Carson) - Funding For Mental Health
  • Human Interest (Lis Exon & Tim Carson) - Disability Service - Vulnerable Wait for Services
  • In-Depth Enterprise Reporting (Bob Sands & Aaron Byrd) - Oil & Gas Safety
  • Special Program (Dave Tamez, Susan Cadot, Janna Smith, Bill Perry) - Gallery: Mr. Sam and the Round Barn
  • Video Editing (Tim Carson) - River Quality
  • Videography (Dave Tamez) - Gallery: Mr. Sam and the Round Barn
  • Best Video Portfolio - Tim Carson


OETA SPJ Second-Place Awards

  • Consumer Reporting (Lis Exon & Tim Carson) - Hydroponics, Scissortail Farms
  • Feature (Lis Exon & Tim Carson) - The Cave House
  • Government Reporting (Steve Bennett & Aaron Byrd) - Legislative Session & Budget
  • Health Reporting (Robert Burch, Ryan Lorg, Collin Fowler, Bill Perry) - Stateline: Cancer Research
  • Special Program (Robert Burch, Ryan Lorg, Collin Fowler, Bill Perry) - Back in Time: Persimmon Hill


OETA SPJ Third-Place Awards

  • Documentary (Robert Burch, Ryan Lorg, Collin Fowler, Bill Perry) - Back in Time: 101 Ranch
  • Feature, (Steve Bennett & Sonya Barrett) - Apollo-Soyuz Anniversary
  • Government Reporting (Steve Bennett & Aaron Byrd) - Budget Process