Skip to main content
OETA Announces Writers Contest Winners
Email share

OETA announced the winners of its annual statewide OETA Writers Contest during a ceremony at the Oklahoma State Capitol Wednesday, May 11. The ceremony in the Governor’s Blue Room included the 12 winners from kindergarten through third grade with their families and teachers, plus remarks by OETA Executive Director Dan Schiedel and Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister. The event also featured a live concert by the Sugar Free Allstars and several state legislators, who provided winners from their district with a special citation that recognized each child’s achievement. The winners are:
1st Place:  Bowden Storm of Stillwater – “Space Probes in Our Solar System”
2nd Place:  Elizabeth Kwok of Nichols Hills – “The Missing Camera”
3rd Place:  Hunter Wann of Sand Springs – “The Pelican Attack”
1st Grade
1st Place:  Emma Tracy of Vinita – “Hula Hooping”
2nd Place:  Georgia Andris of Bluejacket – “The Wild Horse”
3rd Place:  Roman Body of Oklahoma City – “A Perfect World Would Be…”
2nd Grade
1st Place:  Chase Skaggs of Blanchard – “The Mystery of the Hat”
2nd Place:  Madalyn May Wann of Sand Springs – “The 100 Point Buck”
3rd Place:  Asher Tracy of Edmond – “The Space Chameleon”
3rd Grade
1st Place:  Brycen Graham of Spiro – “The Best Super Hero”
2nd Place:  Brisco Smith of Gracemont – “The Despicable Deeds of Gravy the Dog”
3rd Place:  Lydia Kent of Edmond – “Super Peep”
During the ceremony, each child received a certificate of achievement, legislative recognition and a prize pack from OETA. Earlier this year, OETA teamed up with PBS to encourage Oklahoma kids to express their love of books and build literacy skills. By submitting entries to Oklahoma’s statewide Writers Contest, more than 350 children in kindergarten through third grade learned to write and illustrate their own stories.