Minutes of Virtual Special Meeting of the Oklahoma Educational Television Authority

1:00 p.m., Tuesday, October 27, 2020 Facebook Live Location: https://www.facebook.com/OETAOK

DIRECTORS PRESENT BY VIDEOCONFERENCE:

DIRECTORS ABSENT:

Joy Hofmeister, Chair Terri Cornett, Vice Chair Richard Beck Cheryl Evans Lisa Greenlee Kara Hall James Isaacs Glen Johnson Mike Martin Larry Rice Wendy Argenbright Burns Hargis Joseph Harroz, Jr.

VISITORS PRESENT: Special Assistant Attorney General John Settle.

STAFF PRESENT: Executive Director Polly Anderson; Vice President of Finance Shawn Black; Vice President of Production Susan Cadot; Vice President of Operations Janette Thornbrue; Vice President of Educational Outreach Curtis Calvin; Vice President of Engineering & Technology Lawson Adams; External Relations Director Chad Haney; Marketing and Communications Manager Aaron Morvan; and, Executive Assistant Brandy Kennedy.

The Oklahoma Educational Television Authority Board of Directors met virtually through Zoom and Facebook Live in special session at 1:00 p.m. on Tuesday, October 27, 2020. A Notice of Meeting had been filed with the Secretary of State and copies of the Agenda and meeting documents were posted in accordance with provisions of the Open Meeting Act as amended by SB661.

Chair Hofmeister called the meeting to order. Anderson called the roll. It was determined that a quorum was present and the meeting was called to order at 1:10 p.m.

Item #4

Anderson noted the *Oklahoma News Report* extended from a 30-minute to a 60-minute program beginning on October 16th. She mentioned OETA's livestream has launched and that Amazon Fire is now accepting donations from members. Johnson and Hofmeister emphasized the extended news hour with the programming segments has been excellent and they commended the News staff.

Item #6 (Action)

The Board reviewed the minutes for the virtual special meeting of August 25, 2020. The Chair entertained a motion to approve the minutes. Cornett made the motion to approve

and Johnson seconded the motion. Seeing there were no comments or discussion requested, the Chair called for a roll call vote. Anderson conducted roll call to adopt the minutes. All were in favor and the motion carried at 1:18 p.m.

The Board reviewed the minutes for the virtual special meeting of September 10, 2020. The Chair entertained a motion to approve the minutes. Cornett made the motion to approve and Isaacs seconded the motion. Seeing there were no comments or discussion requested, the Chair called for a roll call vote. Anderson conducted roll call to adopt the minutes. One abstained due to absence and eight were in favor; the motion carried at 1:19 p.m.

Item #7 (Action)

The Chair brought the Board's attention to the review and approval for the CPB Alternate Payee Agreement. Anderson explained that the Friends of OETA agrees to disburse CPB funds to the Authority over the course of the two-year grant period. Anderson noted that OETA and CPB attorneys have reviewed the form and that both boards must affirm this agreement. Martin moved to approve the agreement. Greenlee seconded approval. Seeing there were no comments or discussion requested, the Chair called for a roll call vote. Anderson called roll and the motion carried at 1:20 p.m.

Item #8

Black reviewed the personnel report with the Board. He noted that OETA hired Reporter Steve Shaw, who replaced recently retired Ed Murray. No questions or comments were discussed. No motion was required.

Item #9 (Action)

The Chair asked the Board to review the 2021 meeting dates for the Board listed in the materials provided. Johnson made the motion to adopt the regular board meeting dates for 2021. Evans seconded the motion. Seeing there were no comments or discussion requested, the Chair called for a roll call vote. Anderson called roll and the motion carried at 1:24 p.m.

Item #12

The Chair announced the next regular meeting is set for Tuesday, December 22, 2020 at 1 p.m. at the OETA network headquarters in Oklahoma City, OK.

Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the Authority, Chair Hofmeister called for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Johnson moved to adjourn the meeting and Evans seconded the motion. The Chair called for a roll call vote. Anderson conducted the roll call vote. All were in favor, and the meeting was adjourned at 1:25 p.m.

Adopted this day of February 23, 2021.

Hogmenster

Joy Hofmeister, Chair

Terri Cornett, Vice Chair